AIAS Conference 2012


AIAS Conference 2012

The 2012 Conference was a joint conference of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Clinical Anatomists (ANZACA) and the Australasian Institute of Anatomical Sciences (AIAS). The conference was hosted by Schools of Medical Sciences at the University of New South Wales and the University of Sydney.

The theme for the combined conference was 'Advancing Clinical Anatomy Education and Research', bringing together colleauges from New Zealand, South Africa, UK, USA, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, UAE, India and Korea.

The joint conference boasted over 50 presentations from local and international presenters. The Keynote Lecture was given by Professor Wojciech Pawlina from the Mayo Medical School in Rochester Minnesota USA, entitled 'The electronic alphabet of learning, social media, and social networks in anatomy education.' The guest speaker Dr Estelle Lazer from Sydney University, delivered a fascinating lecture entitled 'Pompeii AD 79: Anatomy of a mass disaster.' There was also a Special Lecture 'An anatomy community of practice: together we can do it!' by Nalini Pather from the University of New South Wales

Held at the Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach, two function rooms ran concurrent sessions enabling delegates to attend a variety of sessions including;

The program included a harbour dinner cruise providing the ultimate vantage point to take in the sights and beauty of Sydney harbour.

2012 Program


Past Conferences

2018 - Griffith University
2017 - University of Melbourne
2016 - University of Otago - Dunedin New Zealand
2015 - University of Newcastle
2014 - University of Tasmania - Hobart
2013 - University of Western Australia & CTEC - Perth
2012 - University of Sydney & University of New South Wales - Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach
2011 - James Cook University - Townsville
2010 - Australian National University - Canberra
2009 - Griffith University - Gold Coast
2008 - University of Adelaide - Adelaide
2007 - University of Queensland - Brisbane
2006 - University of New South Wales - Sydney
2005 - University of Otago - New Zealand
2004 - University of Melbourne - Melbourne
2003 - University of Western Australia - Perth
2002 - University of Queensland - Brisbane

Please Provide Feedback   Found a Problem? Contact our Webmaster