AIAS Conference 2014

AIAS Conference 2014

The 2014 Conference was hosted by the University of Tasmania at the Medical Science Precinct located in Hobarts CBD.
The conference attracted colleagues from across Australia and New Zealand with an international guest from Papua New Guinea. There were over 20 presentations and a pre conference workshop on making your own museum pots.

Presentations included such topics as;

Tours were conducted of the Medical Science Precinct teaching and research facilities, Royal Hobart Hospital R.A. Rodda Museum of Pathology and the Department of Health Simulation Laboratory

Social events included welcome drinks on the Hobart water front, conference dinner at the iconic Cascade Brewery and a farewell function on in the Medical Science Precinct at the conclusion of talks on Friday.

A hands on workshop was run on the Wednesday prior to the conference. A power point presentation covering techniques used at Univeristy of Tasmania in the Pathology museum when maintaining, cleaning and making display pots; and participants were given the opportunity to practice suturing specimens for display and making their own souvenir pot to take home.

2014 Program

2014 Conference Booklet

The winner of the best oral presentation (member) was Jo Hong from Murdoch University with his presentation 'Common problems of museum pots and their maintenance'.

Marcus Robinson & Jo Hong

The winner of the best oral presentation (student) was Madeleine de Boer from James Cook University with her presentation 'Improving the educational value of foetal museum specimens'.

Marcus Robinson & Madeleine de Boer

The winner of the best poster was the team from Sydney University with their poster entitled 'Antomical findings of sesamoid bones of the knee'

Marcus Robinson, Cynthia Tang, Claudio Corvalan Diaz

Student travel awards were awarded to Madeleine de Boer and Scott Le Rossignol both of James Cook University Townsville

Past Conferences

2018 - Griffith University
2017 - University of Melbourne
2016 - University of Otago - Dunedin New Zealand
2015 - University of Newcastle
2014 - University of Tasmania - Hobart
2013 - University of Western Australia & CTEC - Perth
2012 - University of Sydney & University of New South Wales - Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach
2011 - James Cook University - Townsville
2010 - Australian National University - Canberra
2009 - Griffith University - Gold Coast
2008 - University of Adelaide - Adelaide
2007 - University of Queensland - Brisbane
2006 - University of New South Wales - Sydney
2005 - University of Otago - New Zealand
2004 - University of Melbourne - Melbourne
2003 - University of Western Australia - Perth
2002 - University of Queensland - Brisbane

Please Provide Feedback   Found a Problem? Contact our Webmaster